Posted in Uncategorized

To Help Others…

How does a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator help others?  As a demonstrator I am able to share the wonderful world of creativity.  Everyone has their own way of being creative while helping others.  For instance, my friend Joan is a painter.  She helps those who have been fighting addiction, or family members of an addict through painting.  She uses this medium to help others express their feelings, whether that’s pain or anger.  It’s a way for them to get things out.  Her students do a wonderful job and you can see the emotion in their work.

Now you may say that you are not creative. That’s not true.  Everyone is in some sort of way, whether it’s painting, paper crafting, scrapbooking, playing a musical instrument or being a math whiz.  Everything you do takes some sort of creativity.

Expressing your creativity can make you happier, less anxious, problem solve, more resilient and it has numerous physical and mental health benefits. It’s an outlet and release from stress. Another example, when my mother passed away a couple of years ago I had my papercrafting to go to.  It would give me a mental break from the grief and taking care of everything.  It gave me a time to feel good, even if it was only for a short time.

Creativity also gives you the opportunity to meet new people. It gives you the opportunity to make lasting relationships, even if it’s only a crafting one.

Creativity also gives you the opportunity to create something that means something. Whenever I make a card or decoration for someone, I take into account their favorite color and things that they like. As I was looking in the new 2017-2018 catalog I came across a new stamp set called “More Than Chocolate” and the first person I thought of was a co-worker who absolutely LOVES her chocolate.  Just knowing this about my co-worker I have numerous ways of expressing my creativity for her birthday or just because I like working with you cards and treat boxes. I know my aunt’s favorite color is purple and she loves it when I do some sort of fancy fold card for her. That’s how you create something that means something.

Enjoy your day and find something creative!!